top of page
  • Helena Gomes

5 Tips That Will Make You A Better Actor


Hi lovebug! I hope you're having an amazing day!


I have always loved acting. I remember being like five or six and making little presentations in the playground and forcing all of the other kids to watch it.


I started doing theater lessons when I was around 10 years old.


I was in theater class until last year when I started doing musical theater.


I hope this post helps musical theater kid/adult or actors became better actors.


1 It's not you


When I started having theater lessons I had a teacher that was really sweet and kind but it was my second teachers, when I moved to a different "school", like performing school, that is my biggest inspiration.


She has taught me soooo much, not only with acting but with life.


And one of the best tips she has ever given me was that the minute you step in the stage, you're gone;


You're not you anymore, you are not the same person.


She told us that to help with feeling shy or embarrassed on stage, like it's not you that is doing all of those things, so you don't have to feel that way.


But it also helps me get into character.


When I'm acting I forget everything. I think differently, I act differently, and I forget all of my problems.


So more than getting into character you need to forget yourself and remember that when you're performing you are not you.


2 Write it down


My mom once told me that a good writer never writes a feeling. For example, they never write "She is happy" or "I was angry", but rather describe those emotions.


They write about how they were checking the clock and bitting their lips. How their hands were sweaty and they couldn't sit still.


That description leads us to the conclusion that they were anxious.


It's the same thing with acting.


Let's say you have a scene where your character is happy. Instead of just smiling try to feel your body so lightweight that you could fly away.


Your lungs smile in happiness with your heart is calm. You feel safe, at peace.


Your feet want to walk around and touch things.


When you picture/feel all of those things your acting will seem a lot more genuine and in character.


3 Try new things


A lot of times I would find myself having a new idea on how to take a role but I was scared.


I played safe.


I still struggle with that, but I am trying my best to try new things.


When given an assignment or a role think outside the box. Give your touch to the character.


Acting is a form of art and art is about being bold and creative.


So get messy, make mistakes, and try, try, try!


4 Practice


I started doing this a while ago and it sounds crazy but it works.


I started making little stories in my head and practice acting.


You don't need much for this. Just get a mirror and start talking. You can memorize a monologue or make it up.


Acting is something that we learn and develop, so practicing is crucial to make it better.


You could even film it to compare different scenes and understand where you made mistakes and try to improve.


5 Watch different things


My teacher once told me something that really stuck to me.


She said that if a child was raised in a room with only one chair when asked to draw a chair the child would draw that one.


But if they knew more then one chair they could choose which one they want to draw or imagine a new chair with the previous knowledge they got.


This also works for acting.


I'm not saying to copy other people, but analyze their skills to improve yours.


So watch different types of things and kind of take notes in your head on things the actors did that you found interesting or that inspired you.


However, again, DON'T copy people! This is for inspiration only!






Those were my tips! I hope you liked them and that they help you!


Comment down below some posts that you would like to see, stay inside, stay safe, bye!


Recent Posts

See All

The one acting tip that changed my life!

Hi, I have always been interested in acting. I realized I liked acting around eight years old. So I started going to acting classes around that age. And when I was ten I started to have classes with o

bottom of page