top of page
  • Helena Gomes

How To Cry On Cue In Only Four Steps


Hi everyone! I hope that you're having a great day!


I have always been an emotional person. However, I just couldn't cry on stage or camera.


I tried everything, but it just didn't work.


So, I decided that I was going to practice until I got it.


I would practice fake crying all the time, and after a while, I started to be able to do it whenever I wanted.


And I want to help you do the same by writing this post!


I hope this helps any actor, theater kids, or musical theater adults.


Enjoy!





Focus on a reason


It's really important to know why your character is crying. You need to get inside their head and think like them.


Focus on why, is it because they are sad, angry, or even happy?


Also think about their story, how someone with that storyline gets affected by events.


Do the reasons crush them, or make them want to hide.


Think of all of that, but the most important is to focus on the why.



Breath slowly


When we cry we usually breathe very slowly.


And to force yourself to do so trying to do the same might help.


Breathe in and out for a while holding and speeding your breath when you find it necessary.


Just focus on your breathing and let it lead you.


Tip: breathing out of your mouth can also help.


Shake your mouth


This sounds weird, but it works.


As I said before, you need to convince your boy that you are about to cry. And when we do that, we usually "shake" our mouths a bit.


You can also bite your lips depending on your character and the scene. Anything that reminds your body of crying.



Stare at a spot


Staring at a spot can help you stay concentrated and focused on your character.


The spot can also be a person or a piece of clothing.


Something that doesn't make it obvious that you are staring at it.









And that's it! Crying on stage can feel weird, and I really recommend learning how to, instead of using personal reasons.


If you liked this post comment, like, subscribe, and share. Bye!

Recent Posts

See All

The one acting tip that changed my life!

Hi, I have always been interested in acting. I realized I liked acting around eight years old. So I started going to acting classes around that age. And when I was ten I started to have classes with o

bottom of page