top of page
  • Helena Gomes

Review of "Matilda The Musical"


Hi! I hope that you're having a great day!


I loved the movie "Matilda" when I was younger.


I remember trying to move things with my head and watching the movie on repeat.


Comment down below did you also pretended to move things with your head after watching the movie or were you normal?


So, as a theater kid, I was super excited when I heard that it was turned into a musical.


I listened to the songs on repeat for months and now I finally watched it!


And so I wanted to do this review to share my opinions.


I hope that other theater kids, musical theater lovers, and musical theater adults like this post!





Disclaimer: This post will contain spoilers, so if you haven't watched the movie or the musical I recommend that you watch and then read it.



I'm going to admit that when I first heard "Miracle", the opening song I didn't enjoy.


But, after watching the show I love the song!


The choreography was breathtaking and it changed the way I view this song.


Other songs that had amazing choreographies were "Bruce" and "School Song".


All of the performers were so synchronized and perfect that I couldn't believe that most of them were children.


And I felt like the dance transmitted the feeling of the characters and added a lot to the show.


One thing that found interesting was that they changed Lavender's character.


Instead of being quiet and calm, she was electric and looked like she just ate ten packs of sugar.


She was a really funny character that was super fun to watch.


I thought that the decision to change Lavender's personality was really smart because it made the show funnier.


Musicals are also the perfect opportunity to have over the top characters so I really like that they took the opportunity and made this whole new character that honestly stole the show.


Another funny touch was PhisEd.


They made the kids pretend that they were working out while Truntchbull sang an incredibly funny song.


The song is called "The Smell Of Rebellion" and I'm obsessed with it.


It's truly hilarious and the choreography was also impeccable.


But my favorite songs were "Revolting Children" and "This Little Girl".


The last one was super emotional and I loved how the actor was able to express the character's feeling through the song.


However, one part of "Matilda The Musical" that at times it seemed like a bunch of scenes glued together instead of a story.


Some of the scenes seemed kind of random and didn't have any connection to the rest of the story.


But, the show was still amazing.


I just wanted to highlight how the children and Truntchbull were truly incredible.


Honestly to anyone who played one of the kids you are incredible because those songs and choreography are NOT easy!





I hope that you liked this post!


If you did make sure to like, comment, share and subscribe for more musical theater-related content.


Bye!


Keywords:


Matilda on Broadway/Musical theatre/theatre kids/musical theatre lover/theatre adult/opinions on musicals/musical review/Matilda the musical review/


Recent Posts

See All

The one acting tip that changed my life!

Hi, I have always been interested in acting. I realized I liked acting around eight years old. So I started going to acting classes around that age. And when I was ten I started to have classes with o

bottom of page